Electrical problem

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yukonerdave

Reaction score
Hey guys. Looking for some brainstorming help

Bike had a complete electrical shut-down on me yesterday (on a bridge in rush-hour traffic, of course). Battery is reading 12.8v, and as far as I know it has been charging properly (I tested it early in the summer and has just over 14v at 3k rpm). The problem I have isolated is the top 30a fuse in the small fuse box right above the positive battery terminal. It had blown, and it fries immediately when I try to replace it. I tried replacing it with the power off and the battery disconnected, but as soon as I connected the positive wire it fried again (ignition was turned off). The other fuse in the same location seems fine.

I'm pretty new with electrical stuff but I assume this means that the system is overloaded. I don't have any clues why. Could it be a bad battery? Could the system be overcharging (not a common issue with vmax, as far as I know)? Any other ideas?

+1 on the short to ground.
The hard part is finding it. If you don't have one, go pick up a multi-meter. I think you're gonna need one for sure. Harbor Freight, Sears, Radio Shack, etc.

So attach the black lead of your meter to the ground terminal of the battery, and with the battery disconnected from the positive lead of the battery, attach your meter to that positive lead. With the meter in Ohms mode it will read 10 ohms or less if you have a direct short.

Start disconnecting things. I'd start with the Stator and R/R first, but when you un-plug the culprit your resistance will go from somewhere around zero to 10 ohms up into the thousands (k) ohms.

Good luck!!

Last edited:
Multi-meter from harbor freight will only set you back $5, or free with a coupon and a purchase of something else. When I had electrical issues I found this diagram to be VERY useful.