Clutch slip when it hits 6000rpm or wheel spin?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwb125

Reaction score
Hi, im new to the vamx and am either getting clutch slip when I hit about 6000rpm or the tyre is spinning up? Anyone have the same issues? I can have the bike in 5th doing 25mph and roll on the throttle and no clutch slip? Its happened a few times now but only when I really nail the trottle when its warm? Any ideas? Thanks in advance. Jase

Welcome to the site. :clapping:

How many miles has the bike done; what gears do you get this in?
Is it every time you hit 6K?
Has it had a car oil with a friction modifier in it? If you aren't sure then it would be worthwhile changing it as a matter of course.

Bleeding the clutch is unlikely to help but if it hasn't been done for several years won't do any harm.

If it is a high mileage bike or has had regular hard launches then I would first inspect the clutch discs and diaphragm spring.

Thickness of the friction plates is between 3.1 and 2.9mm, minimum is 2.8mm but I would replace them before it gets that low. Check the steels for flatness and signs of bluing.
The diaphragm standard height is 7.0mm with a lower limit of 6.5mm.

Whilst you have the plates out also check the clutch basket for any notching which will impair smooth engagement.

If you want to get a little more 'grab' then the half plate can be swapped for a full plate. You will loose the damping washer as well which will result in slightly less smooth gear engagement and a bit of noise but (IMHO) this isn't really noticeable after a few rides.

Should that not sort the issue then check that the lever isn't binding and that the fluid return hole in the M/C is clear. Check the slave for a build up of corrosion or crud which may stop it returning fully.