VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tman54

Reaction score
I have been loving my new to me 06 Vmax since buying it last fall. Had to have the carbs redone by Kyle Clegg here in the Tampa area since I have very little mechanical background, no tools, and no real time to play with my own bike mechanically.

Since Kyle got everything going smoothly...I have ridden about 2500 joyous miles all over western Florida. The big difference fo the carbs and bike running smoothly has been switching to pure non ethanol gas. Amazing difference even if a bit more expensive. Also...with the Florida summer temps I never have to use the choke. it has started like a charm for months.

This past week I got pure gas at a new place...ran the bike for about an hour before getting home for the night. Next afternoon i went to start up and it was "groggy" to start up. It fired...but was only firing on 1 or 2 cylinders I think...very low RPMs. When I went to throttle it, it died. Smelled a bit of gas so figured I flooded it somehow. let it rest an hour then tried again. can't get any fire now with multiple attempts over 3 days. It will cough once or twice on the first try...then nothing accept cranking and cranking. I have tried choking it, not choking, half choke, and finally open throttle wide for a minute while trying to start. Kyle is gone for 2 week vacation, so don't know who to call on in Tampa. I definitely don't trust the dealers here from personal experience and shared reputations.

Good thing is it forces me to plug back into this forum...but after 2 hours of fun reading, I don't see anything I can do on my own accept maybe trying some starter fluid. But...I must admit I am not sure where to spray that or if there is a certain type better than the other. Anyone have any pics of where and how to do this? Many terms of your descriptions are "greek" to me.:)