Bike running super rich-spark plug chek

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Born2Ride

Reaction score
Hello all,

since I bought my 93 Vmax I noticed that one of the red reserve light shows up at around 60-65 miles after full tank, no problem on the sensor because its really takes 10 litters to fill. Now that I got reed of my other problems in the bike, this is the last one remaining (at the moment), I'm not a mechanic so I did some research, and this problem is suppose to come from the carburettors, but I read that when it comes from them its also that bikes doesn't run good and the spark plugs can tell by the colour.
Well, In my case the bike seems to run good and throttle responding fine and the plugs don't seem to tell much bad according to my experience and research. The bike is still stock.
Could you guys give me an advice of what can be the cause of it?

Attachments

• type.jpg
    type.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 112
  • 20150429_150835.jpg
    20150429_150835.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 125
  • 20150429_151820(0).jpg
    20150429_151820(0).jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 110
  • 20150429_153033.jpg
    20150429_153033.jpg
    41.6 KB · Views: 115
  • 20150429_153919.jpg
    20150429_153919.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 116
Yep.....they look a little bit rich. Did you buy the bike new....or used? The reason why I'm asking.....I wonder if the previous owner got into the carbs.

Here is a pic that will help diagnose WHERE the carbs are too rich.

Attachments

• sparkplug.jpg
    sparkplug.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 115