Oil light under hard accelleration??? Normal or not?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaxPower

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a newb with a question. I tried searching but found nothing so any help would be appreciated.

I just bought my 85 Vmax from an ex-coworker (love it)
My problem is that under hard accelleration the oil level light comes on, but only in 2nd gear. Is it common for these bikes to have that much slosh in the oilpan? I know the bike has the correct level of oil in it right now.

Any help would be great!

Thanx,
-Brian-

Re: Oil light under hard accell

MaxPower said:
My problem is that under hard accelleration the oil level light comes on, but only in 2nd gear. Is it common for these bikes to have that much slosh in the oilpan? I know the bike has the correct level of oil in it right now.

Any help would be great!

Thanx,
-Brian-
Brian, pretty normal under hard acceleration. No worries.

+ 1 Very common, welcome to this side of motorcycling:rocket bike:

MaxPower said:
Hi all, I am a newb with a question. I tried searching but found nothing so any help would be appreciated.

I just bought my 85 Vmax from an ex-coworker (love it)

Any help would be great!

Thanx,
-Brian-
________
Acura Legend

Last edited:

It's pretty normal. Yamaha in their grand wisdom put the oil level sensor in the front of the oil pan. So basicly, once the oil is good an hot, hotting boost in 1st, 2nd and sometimes 3rd will cause the oil to ho the back of the pan and leave the sensor high and dry.

Just do yourself a favor and check the oil level every other ride or so as the max will burn oil with lots of boost usage.:eusa_dance:

lol this has had me worried for weeks now!! Thanks for asking man and everyone else for answering. I'll sleep alot better tonight!!

Thanks for the info guys :thumbup1:

Now I'm not so worried.