Need Piston Help

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

udubec

Reaction score
I have recently been restoring a 1990 Vmax 1200 and decided to replace the pistons from the original size to 0.25mm oversized. I also purchased the oversized rings with the aim to improve the overall performance back to ‘new’. As I went through the process of taking measurements I found the piston to be a different size at the top than at the bottom for both the old and the new pistons. Both by 0.55mm.

Is this right?

What should I do about the reboring of the cylinder? Should it be straight or is it supposed to be tapered? I do not want to rebore and find that I have messed something up. Ultimately what size should the cylinder be rebored to for the new pistons?

Please forgive me if I am asking rudimentary questions, but after researching I cannot find anything and as a newbie I really need your help.

Thank you in advance!!!

Attachments

• VMax 1200 Piston Dimensions.JPG
    VMax 1200 Piston Dimensions.JPG
    38.9 KB · Views: 36