Looking to buy a Vmax!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

showmeyourtints

Reaction score
Hey all, This is my first post on here! I currently ride a 2004 gsxr 750 but im looking to get into a vmax. I have a few questions for you gen 1 owners. How is the transition coming from a sport bike to these bikes? Ive been riding on the street for 3 years now and riding dirt for 10 so I know I can handle this grunt of a bike. Also, modding. Is there much aftermarket support for these bikes? I really dont know what to expect with this bike. The main reason im getting rid of my rocket is discomfort and looking to take this thing to the track. It sounds mean as hell and Its by far my favorite bike of all time.

Thanks !

Which st Johns? There is a stupid amount of aftermarket parts available. Stock for stock, you'll be sad about brakes and suspension unless you weigh 135. Look for anything after '92 to get the newer forks and brakes. Take a few days to start reading on here and you'll start to get an idea of what is possible and normal upgrades and stuff. My' 01 is for sale...

Oh, and welcome.

I'm thinking about selling my '97 VMax. Here is a list of mods done, just to give you an idea of some of the most popular mods:

1. Six-puck front brake conversion (From Suzuki Hayabusa or Yamaha R1).
2. Progressive front fork conversion and lowering.
3. Upgraded front fork brace.
4. Continuous-cooling fan switch (Switch between automatic and continuous).
5. Air scoops narrowed 1.0” in the rear.
6. Vista Cruise Throttle lock (cruise control).
7. CNC Billet adjustable front brake and clutch levers.
8. T-Boost mod (to make V-Boost kick-in switchable from 6000 RPM (stock) to 3000 RPM option).
9. K&N air filter.
10. Battery wire crimp converted to soldered connection (more reliable starting when hot).
11. Carburetors re-jetted for Supertrapp exhaust pipes.
12. Welded frame braces.