Maybe underpowered??

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaywoo

Reaction score
Please allow myself to introduce myself. I'm sortof a noob, at least to this forum. My name is Jay Woodson, and I live in the thriving metropolis of Cabot, AR. "Where is that" you ask? Just outside of Little Rock, thanks! This is where all of you say in unison "Hi Jay". Anywho, I started riding back in 1980 on a Honda CM400T. I was 14 and thought that it was fast. :) There have been quite a few bikes since then (my favorite being a VFR750), and the latest is a 2005 VMax, bought new in March of 05. The bike has just over 6000 miles on her now. Aside from some cosmetic changes (turn signals, tail light, handle bars and grips) the bike is stock. Oh, and I did drill the exhaust with 5 1/2" holes on each side to add some sound a couple weeks back. Not to get off on a tangent, but I really want a Dale Walker Holeshot exhaust. Just need the $1400 or so to do it.

So, onto my question. I've read a bunch about how the VMax will shread the rear tire in first gear from a roll or stop. Mine never has, even when brand new. Crack the throttle open, and it goes, but no tire spin. This has me wondering if maybe there is something wrong with the bike making it underpowered. The V-Boost seems to be working, but I have no idea if it's working right, since this is the only VMax I've ever ridden. It will lift the front tire off the ground on the 1-2 shift if I'm riding in an "aggresive" manner. :punk:

Oh, and I've been getting somewhere around 38mpg on it, just riding back and forth to work (46 miles each way, mostly interstate). Does that sound about right??

The bike hasn't been to the shop since I bought it. I've done my own oil changes to it. I'm fairly certain it could really use a carb synch. I just need to buy the carbtune tool to do it.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!!

standard.jpg