Oil Change Help

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HondaGuy

Reaction score
Hello all,

First time poster here. I have a pretty dumb question, and I'll be honest, I'm a bit embarrassed to ask it. I'm a pretty competent wrench, and have restored quite a few bikes over the years, but this is my first time getting my hands dirty on a VMax. I'm helping out a friend who recently took possession of his dads long neglected 99. I've been through the whole bike, rebuilt the carbs, adjusted the valves, new fork seals, rebuilt the slave cylinder, changed the final drive oil and coolant, rebuilt the starter, new fuel filter, rebuilt all the brakes, and generally undid a lot of neglect.

My question seems pretty stupid, but I cant see the oil level through the window. It's totally opaque, and I have no idea where I'm at with the oil level. My Clymer manual says 4 quarts for filter and oil change, but I seldom trust those books. On old Goldwings I've restored, there's a little wiper you can turn that will clear the window, but there's nothing like that on this bike. Am i missing something, or should i just trust the Clymer manual and dump 4 quarts in it?

Welcome to the forum..

I guess the 1st thing I would look at is,,, after the oil is drained;
1) how much did I remove.
2) what was the condition of the oil. Was it just dark in color, or was it brown and milky? In other words, if it was smeared on the site glass, would it look opaque?
3) or, are you simply looking through the window and seeing past the site glass?

If it's milky in color, you may have some water or coolant going where it shouldn't be.

If its just dark in color, I'd change out the filter and put what is recommended and watch the site glass. You should see the level rise.. (make sure you're on a level surface).

Good luck with that.