videos

Go Back   VMaxForum.net > Main Category > VBoost Room

VBoost Room General Bike Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Throttle cable broke
  #1  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:26 AM
CustomMax's Avatar
CustomMax CustomMax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 1,199
My VMax: 92
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award Hello there, Officer..! 
Total Awards: 5
Default Throttle cable broke

I was pulling out of a bike night cruise and SNAP there went the throttle, after checking it out ( at midnight on the side of the road) I see there's a point where it splits into two lines, my question does it come apart there or do I need to buy the whole cable? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #2  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:43 AM
1967vmax's Avatar
1967vmax 1967vmax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Schellsburg
Posts: 619
My VMax: 02 carbon fiber/custom
My other bikes: zx14,zx7,stratoliner
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

I guess you are running stock carbs so there are 4 cables. They are joined together in that plastic lil box 1 is a pull and the other is a push. I have a set of motion pro upper cables in braided i can sell you since i swithed to flatsides?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #3  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:45 AM
maleko89's Avatar
maleko89 maleko89 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 6,088
My VMax: 1999 VMax
Awards Showcase
Nice guy award Bike event award The DOH! award 
Total Awards: 3
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

There are four separate cables. There's a junction slider box under the left steering neck cover.

1) open cable from throttle grip to junction box. (1FK-26311-01-00)
2) Open cable from junction to carbs. (1FK-26313-01-00)
3) Close cable from throttle grip to junction. (1FK-26312-01-00)
4) Close cable from junction to carbs. (1FK-2631J-00-00)

Where exactly did it snap? It may be time to replace all four. How often do you lube them? I recommend getting a cable luber/lube and performing that service yearly.
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #4  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:46 AM
CustomMax's Avatar
CustomMax CustomMax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 1,199
My VMax: 92
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award Hello there, Officer..! 
Total Awards: 5
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

Oh yea, forgot about that, I'm running Vgas carbs, will stock cables work or do I need to get a special cable?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #5  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:52 AM
1967vmax's Avatar
1967vmax 1967vmax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Schellsburg
Posts: 619
My VMax: 02 carbon fiber/custom
My other bikes: zx14,zx7,stratoliner
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

You are shit out of luck so you will have to goto wild bothers i just bought a set of braided cables for my flatsides from wild brothers
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #6  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:08 AM
CustomMax's Avatar
CustomMax CustomMax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 1,199
My VMax: 92
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award Hello there, Officer..! 
Total Awards: 5
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

$125.00 for a throttle cable!!! Yikes and there goes riding all weekend. Does anyone know how long it takes to get these cables?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #7  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:09 AM
tugla's Avatar
tugla tugla is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec/Yukon
Posts: 3,744
My VMax: 97 dark maroon/blk "V1"
My other bikes: '97 "V2",'92 dr 650s
Awards Showcase
Award of Posting Excellence (APE) 
Total Awards: 1
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

curious, was it the vgas carbs that made the stock cable snap you think?
__________________
FBI VMOA 4700

If you can't party with the big boys...don't show up!!!!

Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #8  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:17 AM
CustomMax's Avatar
CustomMax CustomMax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 1,199
My VMax: 92
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award Hello there, Officer..! 
Total Awards: 5
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

It broke right at the handlebars where it connects to the handgrip, can't I just put a stock piece on to where it splits?
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #9  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:23 AM
1967vmax's Avatar
1967vmax 1967vmax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Schellsburg
Posts: 619
My VMax: 02 carbon fiber/custom
My other bikes: zx14,zx7,stratoliner
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

No its 2 cables,1push and 1pull. Stock is 4 joined together at the plastic box. I got mine for under 100 bucks had them in 4days.
Reply With Quote
 

Re: Throttle cable broke
  #10  
Old 08-21-2010, 10:29 AM
CustomMax's Avatar
CustomMax CustomMax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh Pa
Posts: 1,199
My VMax: 92
Awards Showcase
Mod Monkey Award of Posting Excellence (APE) Nice guy award Hello there, Officer..! 
Total Awards: 5
Default Re: Throttle cable broke

Where did you get it from?
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
broke, cable, throttle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

MorleyMuscle.com exactrep.com cycle-istic.com madmax.com peromotorsports.com maxgasser.com
top of page