Steering Head

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the06vmaxer

Reaction score
So I got around to tightening the steering head bearings. Got it all down to using the hammer and screwdriver, as I didn't want to do nothing to extreme, just seeing how that would help.

It worked well, was lightly tapping on it, tightening it up, using the bounce method. However I came to a problem, the nut wouldn't tight up anymore using the hammer. I didn't want to hit it to hard, but it seemed like it wouldn't go anymore. However it would still bounce off the stops.

Any suggestions? I have never done it before so it was the first time since new. I got 7xxx km's on it.

Should I try tapping again after going for a ride? Would it be bottoming out already? Thanks for the help!

and just as important, either the top triple tree clamp bolts or the bottom ones. one of those sets has to be loose

Did you disassemble the upper head stock to get to just the two nuts?

Follow these instructions to the T!

http://www.vmaxforum.net/local_links.php?action=jump&catid=1&id=38

Ahh Bullshit! You don't need to remove all that crap and the only thing the Furber fix does is make that E-Bay guy mad cash by selling idiots 10 cent washers for $10.00 ea. The only thing you need to do is loosen that top nut and use the method you stated with the hammer and screwdriver. I did it, works great and solved the head shake. I would ride the bike first though. Even if the bars still have a slight bounce, as long as the head shake is gone, leave it alone. If you tighten it too much you will cause a high speed weave.