Couldn't Shift into Neutral When Hot

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sulaco83

Reaction score
So, I'm new to V-Maxes, and picked up my 02 about a month ago. I've gone on some short rides and it's been great, probably only put 100 miles on it so far though. Today, I met my wife for dinner in town, which was the longest ride I have had on it so far (20 miles each way). Everything seemed fine until I got close to home and went to put the bike in neutral so I could open the garage door. I sat there for a few minutes and the bike just kept going from 1st to 2nd. I haven't had any problems finding neutral before, other than the bike seeming to prefer going in from 2nd gear. After some playing and rocking the bike back and forth I finally got it in neutral, but then it didn't want to go back into 1st gear after I got the door open! It felt like there was a lot of heat coming off the bike and I wonder if that had something to do with it, and I'm probably due for an oil change since I don't know when the previous owner did one last. I really hope the transmission isn't screwed up. Has anyone else had a similar problem and have any pointers for me? I am planning to do an oil change within the next week. Thanks!

Several things to consider:

• yes, change the oil, read the oil threads in 'frequently asked questions'
  • if that doesn't help, you might check your shift segment pins the factory manual is on the website, look for it so you will be familiar with what you're going to see
  • make sure your clutch is well-bled, and that the F&R brakes and the clutch master cyl's fluid is transparent. If it's opaque, change the fluid and bleed the systems. I prefer to reverse-bleed with a large 60 cc syringe and a short length of clear plastic tubing. Again, look at the site for info, do a search for reverse-bleed.