A big thanks to Sean Morley

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motox909

Reaction score
I've been fighting with my 99 vmax for a few years thinking it was a problem with the carbs. The bike runs rough when warmed up and in stop and go traffic. It would stall at lights and at intersections when hot. tried all the cleaning methods recommended on the forum and synced the carbs a few times. After talking with Sean, he sent me a package of parts including a set of rebuilt carbs and electrical parts to try. I replaced to carbs and still had the same problem. Turns out to be the pick-up sensor on the flywheel. It went out of spec when hot. Sean helped me diagnose the problem over the phone and supplied the parts to fix it. THANKS again Sean!!! This is a great site.

Ah, I might need some info on this... I have had issues lately, well it doesn't like to idle too much once warm... And I have had Sean redo my carb a couple of years ago, plus picked up a lot of parts in the past year doing Mods...If Sean was a neighbor I would be at his shop all the time...

If its just your idle stalls once warmed up and you take it off, I'd suggest you doing the shotgun: http://vmax.lvlhead.com/tips/shotgun.htm

Ah, I might need some info on this... I have had issues lately, well it doesn't like to idle too much once warm... And I have had Sean redo my carb a couple of years ago, plus picked up a lot of parts in the past year doing Mods...If Sean was a neighbor I would be at his shop all the time...

If its just your idle stalls once warmed up and you take it off, I'd suggest you doing the shotgun: http://vmax.lvlhead.com/tips/shotgun.htm