Air shock pressure?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Swoosebag

Reaction score
I have a set of rear air shocks that came on the bike when I bought it. There aren't any markings on them that I can find. Any one know what kind of air pressure I should run in them?

Normaly nitrogen pressure in a single motorcycle rear shock is estimated at
14 BAR at maxiumum. With no name shock I would try 10 BAR or so as a good
point to start.

I am not a suspension expert.

I am assuming someone threw-on some H-D, or maybe Kawasaki shocks, I think those two ran 'em on their touring models. You could do yourself a favor by posting pics, maybe someone will recognize 'em. You could always air them up to about whatever makes them extend, and then bump 'em by 5-10 psi increments until they became rigid struts-"too-much air!" and then you should bleed 'em off of-course.

To my knowledge, pressures for nitrogen-charged shocks aren't what you would expect to run for atmospheric-air charged shocks. Ten bar is 145 psi, fourteen bar is 203 psi, which is I believe, 'way-too-much for what you probably have.

To my knowledge, pressures for nitrogen-charged shocks aren't what you would expect to run for atmospheric-air charged shocks. Ten bar is 145 psi, fourteen bar is 203 psi, which is I believe, 'way-too-much for what you probably have.

+1,

They aren't so different than air shocks on a truck. The air is really only supplemental.

Not knowing these particular shocks I'd guess 30 psi, or two bar, might even be past the limit.

I'd suggest letting all the air out of them, ride it and add air as needed till it feels right.

Do not ever use air in high pressure schocks,never.

I use to service some single shocks from motorcycles and i cant even recal ONE with preasure bellow 10 bar...i used argonium as i do not have nitrogen on hand.