Backrest compatibility

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rbmorgan

Reaction score
Hello folks, I’m new to the Vmax and the forum and I’m curious about backrest compatibility from other bikes. I can source a few vstar backrest locally for a decent price but uncertain if it would fit a vmax. I wouldn’t mind a minor modification to make one fit. Would the vstar fit or any other? I’ve also thought about making one and mounting it in the reflector location on the factory sissy bar/grab handle. Has anyone tried this? Thanks for any help, loving the Vmax!

The OEM 3 piece is nearly the only thing out there. Aftermarket ones are few and far-between. The Maxgasser seat is going to be made again by the looks of things. (31) I’m Back …………. | Yamaha Star V-Max VMAX Motorcycle Discussion Forum (vmaxforum.net) Not a backrest, but an alternative seat to one (OEM) many people find lacking.

1649244526331.png

It offers a bit more vertical support than the standard factory seat, for the pilot's lower back. Since they are custom-made, the shape can be tailored to the rider.

The Corbin seat in some models has a backrest that can be for the pilot or the passenger, or for both (requires two, obviously). It/they are removable. They had originally a solid pad, now they have a 'halo' with an open center. It's the 'Ovalbac,' and is curved and is adjustable. The flat-style with no 'halo' I believe is still offered.

1649246378578.png

Corbin Motorcycle Seats & Accessories | Yamaha V-Max | 800-538-7035

VMax Corbin seat-backrest old style.png

Here's another rare aftermarket backrest.

1649245458051.png

Yamaha V-Max 1200 (Up to 2008) Carrier in Chrome - with Padded Backrest - Renntec - Motorcycle luggage racks, grab rails & more

This is probably the least expensive aftermarket backrest & luggage rack you're gonna find. U.K. pricing currently £ 170.