Bad caliper seals?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davidon

Reaction score
6 pot calipers, I've got funny brake caliper feel and was wondering what the symptoms are for the seals going bad. I rolled downhill and applied partial brakes and it feels like the pistons are grabbing all of a sudden (not gradual braking as normally happens) at one point during wheel rotation. Flushed lines and cleaned pistons but symptoms are still there.

Is this a new issue with a previously good system or did you just fit the 6 pots?

Discs warped? Does it have a shimmy through the lever when light braking from say 30mph up? This can cause a grabbing feeling at low speed. Its not nice.

I am an ex car mechanic so if this helps:
In terms of car calipers (same things effectively) the seals leak when they fail but could stick if enough crud builds up on them inside under the dust seal . That is a LOT of crud Im talking about, not just discolouration.

The m/cyl can fail internally but you would expect to feel something amiss through the lever ie jumping through its , being hard or just not being smooth.

What does the fluid look like?

I have seen car brake lines fail when someone was too heavy handed with the temp hose clamps on the brake lines (used to stop the m cly draining while a caliper is disconnected. ) It can cause the lines to fail inside and make it like a one way valve but again this is rare stuff Im talking about.

Usually a clean, new seals and, unless corroded inside, all is well.