Biffed mine too....

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coffee_brake

Reaction score
I'm not a speed junkie, a squid, or a newbie. I wear good gear and practice my skills regularly. I'm not an expert rider with decades of experience, but I consider myself a profficient rider dedicated to common sense riding.

So I biffed for the first time on the Vmax, on the way to Deal's Gap. My good riding suit is in for repairs (not crash related) so I had only my armored mesh jacket and jeans to go with boots and gloves. I had on some borrowed rain gear. I was taking it real easy through the curves on Hwy 28 headed up to Highlands, thinking about every move because it was raining and I've never had this bike in the curves.

Uphill left-hander, didn't go in too hot, on the contrary my line was too conservative and the back tire rolled over the painted yellow center line. SPLAT! In an instant I was sliding on my front and listening to my bike bounce across the pavement into the dirt. I always thought I'd panic when it was my turn to go down, but all the instructions came back somehow: first get out of the road, check yourself, get the bike out of the road. It was pitiful, "chug-chuging" sideways as I scrambled to turn the key off.

I thought I must have crushed my kneecaps, that crap about the pain not hitting till 5 minutes later is bull. Nothing broken, just road rash and really sore knees.
I couldn't get at the handlebars to lift the bike, it was buried in mud. I was digging it out with a flattened beer can when some hottie in a pickup offered to help me lift it, thanks Bubba-the-Redneck, wherever you are!

Once the fuel fed back into the carbs and I got it started, it was about 2 hours to the Gap, as I was all shook up and scared to lean it over, and my knees were just agony.