Bike is dead

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Steve Kent, Jan 12, 2018.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

Tags:
  1. Jan 12, 2018 #1

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Theodore, Al
    I have a 2002 max, after sitting for a couple of weeks, I went out to shop to start it up, battery low, put trickle charge on it. Went to start it up the next day, everything came on and engine started spinning over....then, everything went off as if battery was jerked loose. Started checking system, found a 30amp fuse blown in small red wire splitting off of red wire going to solenoid, replaced it, still, nothing at all. Battery in fully charged...what could be the problem? Acts as if the key was never put in and turned, no lights, no nothing! I checked the small black box with fuses in it, all are good, headlight, ignition, tail light, all are good. What, or am I missing something somewhere?
     
  2. Jan 12, 2018 #2

    marsmax85

    marsmax85

    marsmax85

    marsmax1985 vmoa #5666

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,564
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lovettsville Virginia
    check your grounds for corrosion
     
  3. Jan 12, 2018 #3

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    There is a main 30 amp fuse for the bike and it says "main fuse" on it. Was that the one that you replaced?

    Start at the basics. Are the cables to the batter loose....etc?
     
  4. Jan 12, 2018 #4

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    Better check for the skinned wire that made the fuse blow.

    ALso, check your starter button in-case it's sticking, sometimes a shot of WD40 will free it, or you may need to disassemble the switch & clean it, I believe there's a sticky about it.
     
  5. Jan 12, 2018 #5

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Theodore, Al
    Yes, the main 30amp fuse marked as main is the one I replaced.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2018 #6

    Buster Hymen

    Buster Hymen

    Buster Hymen

    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fire-medic beat me to it. The starter button can get messed up and when you press it nothing happens.
     
  7. Jan 13, 2018 #7

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    Great minds think alike!

     
  8. Jan 14, 2018 #8

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,601
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Derby Kansas
    You replaced the correct one? There are two positions in the main fuse socket. One is active (with wires coming out of it) and one is the spare. If you don't have any power anywhere then it's not the start switch. A bad start switch (sticking) will cause the headlights to shut off but everything else will work normally.
     
  9. Jan 18, 2018 #9

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Theodore, Al
    I replaced them both, just so I have fresh ones installed. I haven't had a chance to check any further because of weather and me in and out of hospital 3 times in the past month. Should be able to get back out into shop this weekend and start following up on connections and battery. I'll keep you informed of progress.
     
  10. Jan 27, 2018 #10

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Theodore, Al
    Could the CDI box cause the bike to lose power to everything? Place charge on battery to peak it, and when I insert key and turn on, nothing except the charger goes back to charging again.
     
  11. Jan 27, 2018 #11

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    I would have the battery load-tested.
     
  12. Jan 30, 2018 #12

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Steve Kent

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Theodore, Al
    Well, after spending several hours checking wiring and taking to another mechanic, the problem was the battery. It had a dead cell, supposedly messed up someones charger....not mine! Expensive lesson learned, over $300 spent to replace battery. Mechanic did check entire wiring harness and cleaned some things up, bike is back home, running, and looking forward to showing off again in bike shows. Thanks for all the help, I always learn from you guys, I'm just stubborn as heck at times. Again, thanks!
     
  13. Jan 30, 2018 #13

    ga_max

    ga_max

    ga_max

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cumming, GA
    Glad your back on the road.
     
  14. Jan 30, 2018 #14

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    Glad you are done. It sounded like a weak battery to me.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white