can you get an oem fuel pump?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
so ive had my bike apart trying to fix a cylinder misfire under load. per recommendations i was checking out the plug wires at the coils and found some green in there. cleaned all that up. went to start my bike and didnt hear the fuel pump. crank no start now. all i did was unbolt it and all to check out the plug wires in the rear. well i guess its shot . gotta love how you fix one thing and something else breaks. really!? anyway i would like to use an oem pump. but all i can find are aftermarket. whats a good pump that will instll nicely? or should i just get one of them 65 dollar ones? l
 

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
i took it apart yesterday. no obvious issues. ill go ahead and buy aftermarket
 

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
i installed a spare fuel pump i had lying around and still no pump. so ive got batt voltage at the connector key on but no pump. the pump must be controlled on the negative side, ,through a relay? i had all the harness connectors unplugged in order to move the harness out of the way to get the tray the front two coils are bolted to out of the bike to clean up the plug wires. i did dialectric grease on all the connectors i unplugged as a maintainance precaution. anyone shed any light on this? everyting is plugged back in and the original pump works if i jump it straight to battery
 

Parminio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
1,418
Reaction score
954
Location
Suwanee, Georgia
Have you checked the fuse? There's a 10amp fuse that runs the fuel pump and neutral light I think. Pull your fuses and make sure they're not blown and check that they're not corroded. Clean them up/replace and see if that helps.
 

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
i dont think there is a fuse. didnt see one anyway. i did pull and check the 4 fuses on the block. all good. i did find a thread and the owner was having the same issues.
 

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
performed the handlebar switch test. ive got continuity on the red/white and red/ green wires when in reserve. moved on to the relay test but the colors are different than whats shown here. iv e got no red and white wire at the fuel pump relay. so ive got power at the fuel pump connector until i plug in the fuel pump. back probing the wiring when the pump is connected proves this. so the circuit cant support a load. bad wiring? ill need wiring diagram for this circuit. guess ill order a manual
 

apsolus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2021
Messages
73
Reaction score
22
so after noticing i didnt have a blue wire at the fuel pump relay i looked around and found one at the turn signal relay. i swapped connectors! haha damn. not used to being able to do that so i didnt even look. now that i hooked itup properly all is wall. damn i chased my tail for days fo r that! thanks for your help firemedic
 

DreamV4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
1,038
Reaction score
276


Every electrical diagnosing should start with electrical diagram and diagnostic procedure from manual.
 
Last edited:

Fire-medic

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
13,277
Reaction score
2,879
Location
Miami Florida
so after noticing i didnt have a blue wire at the fuel pump relay i looked around and found one at the turn signal relay. i swapped connectors! haha damn. not used to being able to do that so i didnt even look. now that i hooked itup properly all is wall. damn i chased my tail for days fo r that! thanks for your help firemedic
Glad you persevered. Sometimes you have to undo prior owners' mistakes.
 
Top