Cannot get in TOP 5th gear! Help!

Discussion in 'Drivetrain' started by V-V, Jun 29, 2020.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Jun 29, 2020 #1

    V-V

    V-V

    V-V

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
    I replaced 2nd gear and put them back, but it seems cannot get into top gear. Is the something to do with segment parts (dent star & pins) ?? I think I put it back the it was...
    Please advise.

    AD16155F-A74C-4624-BD9B-A7D3DF81A373.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jun 29, 2020 #2

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9,720
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Miami Florida
  3. Jun 29, 2020 #3

    V-V

    V-V

    V-V

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
  4. Jun 29, 2020 #4

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    15,351
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Derby Kansas
    The trans is not syncronized so you have to either rotate the wheel or rotate the clutch shaft when shifting to to test the bike
     
  5. Jun 30, 2020 #5

    V-V

    V-V

    V-V

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
    Thanks, it does not get into the 5th gear. How to fix or synchronized?
     
  6. Jul 1, 2020 at 4:35 AM #6

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    See the Service Manual 3-55
     
  7. Jul 1, 2020 at 8:31 AM #7

    RempageR1

    RempageR1

    RempageR1

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Does the shift lever stop moving when you try to get into 5, or does it move way high without any resistance?

    Sync you do by just putting the bike on main stand and rotating the rear wheel while shifting. Without main stand you have to just move the bike backwards or forward slightly while changing gears.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

arrow_white