Confused about brake upgrade.....

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mivmx

Reaction score
What is the advantage of R1 front calipers. I have a master cyl and caliper set off an '06 R1 to put on my '06 Vmax. I believe these are a direct fit. Please help me understand the difference. I guess what I really want to know is what the best brake setup would be(front and rear). Thanks in advance.
:ummm::ummm:

06 r1 will not work on the vmax, 06 are radial mount calipers.

98-02 r1 calipers are a direct fit to the max.

personally i dont think the stopping power was any better with thw r1 brakes, just a different feel.

I had just installed r1 calipers/master and stainless lines on my max, then bought another max that had stock brakes with HHpads and stainless lines.

Myself and a couple other maxers rode both bike s and compared. My new max with the stock set up had much better braking.

At the same time another friend of mine installed r1calipers/master and he had the same results, he felt the r1 brakes didnt work as well.

but ther are many other who will dispute this.

From what I've heard, changing the master cylinder is what can make the biggest difference to both feel and braking power.

I'm going to stick with my original 1-piston calipers on my '86, but fit 93-07 wave rotors, HH pads and the adapters for the calipers I got from Jedi. (That's if I can get hold of those wave rotors - can't find either here or on eBay anymore, and the guy's not responding to my email :-( )

From what I've heard, changing the master cylinder is what can make the biggest difference to both feel and braking power.