Connecting a shift light?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

82ndCowboy

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Anyone have a shift light Installed on thier Max?
Where's the best place to connect a shift light.
I only need to connect 3 wires.
Ground - that is easy to figure out.

Power - needs to be connected to power source that only comes on when key is on.
So where is the best place to connect this?

Coil - Which wire of the coil is the best for connecting a shift light to?

I'd hook to back of your instrument cluster. Most shiftlights could wire into a switched power lead here and then your sense wire could be to your tach.

Thanks guys... But where's the fuse box. Please don't laugh! I'm a noob and I have only had the seat and scoops off once to hook up a couple of accent led's.
Maleko, I have a Raptor shift light the Coil lead is supposed to be hooked to the coil for #1 cylinder.

Robert, the fuse box is on the left side under the air box cover. Since you need coil #1, fuse box might be best place for switched wire. For the coil wire, you can do wires input to the coil. Not sure what color goes into #1 coil, Clymer isn't that specific. It's either gray, white, orange or yellow. Otherwise, do wire that goes from coil connector to coil. That's orange.

Actually Mark, You were right initially.
I finally got a hold of someone who has the same light and everything can be wired into the gauge cluster to the back of the tach.
Thanks for the help!

82ndCowboy said:
Anyone have a shift light Installed on thier Max?
Where's the best place to connect a shift light.
I only need to connect 3 wires.
Ground - that is easy to figure out.

Power - needs to be connected to power source that only comes on when key is on.
So where is the best place to connect this?

Coil - Which wire of the coil is the best for connecting a shift light to?

What kind of light do you have?