Damn garage door spring!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebar

Reaction score
Letting off some steam here.

God damn spring on my garage door snapped and not sure how long until I can get one bought and installed.. Takes two people to muscle it open now.

:bang head::bang head::bang head::bang head:

http://www.truetex.com/garage.htm

If I was closer I'd swap 'em for ya. It takes me about fifteen minutes.
Of course I've been doing it for 20 years.

If you plan on doing it yourself, follow trutex's advice and be very careful. Any questions... hit me up.

Thanks eatatjoz..

What sucks even worse is that when I remove the one good spring today, the double door will be to heavy to lift and me and my girls..

Will be trapped!

Wait until you get the new springs in before taking it apart.
In the meantime, get a cable clamp (about 3/8") and clamp the broken spring back together. Wind it back up and use the door as normal. It will usually last for a week or two before the spring breaks somewhere else.

and change both springs at the same time, or you'll be doing it all again next month.

get a cable clamp (about 3/8") and clamp the broken spring back together. Wind it back up and use the door as normal. It will usually last for a week or two before the spring breaks somewhere else.

Great info thanks.

Iv been calling around trying to get replacement springs but no one will sell me any. I have all the spring dimensions.

One outfit can do it for $200 today.. Sounds pretty reasonable if its done right?:confused2:

That sounds about right. I charge 180. Plus a little for off-hours.
Just be careful about who shows up. Some are crooks and want to get you with the new rollers, drums, hinges, lifetime springs... it ends up being 800 or more when they're through with you
(Initials are PDS btw)