Digital sync tool

Discussion in '2nd Gen - the new VMax' started by rebeltaz83, Jul 14, 2019.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Jul 14, 2019 #1

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    What or who makes the digital sync tool for the gen 2s.??
    It was all over the star vmax site, but since it's now been abandoned, and I can't remember what it was called. I have 2 (round Gage style, and the long tall black one with the silver weights) but I can't get them close to each other no matter how much I turn the screws. It runs good, starts, idles get great gas mileage I've been getting right at or just over 100 miles before the low fuel light comes on. I just want to get these TBs readings closer.
     
  2. Jul 14, 2019 #2

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    Here is the website. digisync.

    http://thedigisync.com/

    Unfortunately IF I remember correctly, I think they are no longer in business, but please post up one way or the other. Ive used the Morgan Carb tune for my gen2.
     
  3. Jul 14, 2019 #3

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    I sent them an email, hopefully I get a response. I'll keep updated.
    Amazon has 1 for about $230 shipped. Not digisync brand.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  4. Jul 15, 2019 #4

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Got a reply, says he's still here for the time being, gonna be making them for as long as he can, Bon Shaw. Guess I'll be putting in an order.
     
  5. Jul 15, 2019 #5

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    Thank you for the update. LOL, I might need to get one as well....
     
  6. Jul 15, 2019 #6

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Not a problem, I hate threads with no outcome, or a resolution to a problem. Given he might not be in business 3 or 30 years from now lol, but atleast for anybody looking to get a digisync they can still put an order in "now".
     
  7. Jul 15, 2019 #7

    jdeitz1979

    jdeitz1979

    jdeitz1979

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Auburn
    Do you think the digital one is really better than the Morgan carbtune?
     
  8. Jul 15, 2019 #8

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Dunno haven't used a digital one. It was highly recommended on the star vmax forum. I think either have to be easier to use than the round Gage type. I'm hoping that after getting some miles on my 18 the TBs will sync. now.
     
  9. Jul 16, 2019 #9

    Hemi52rb

    Hemi52rb

    Hemi52rb

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tulsa
    i bought one i love it. mine was in sync but then i only have 2500 miles on my 2016 max but the digisync is easy to use i have instructions with pics how to sync if lntrested
     
    rebeltaz83 likes this.
  10. Jul 16, 2019 #10

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    I'm interested if you would please post.
     
    rebeltaz83 likes this.
  11. Jul 16, 2019 #11

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    I got just over 3,000 miles on my 18. My TB sync was way off when I got it, it would idle and stall at random times at stop signs, or traffic lights. I got them as close as I could using both of my sync. Tools. Got it to quit stalling, but they still ain't right. I'm hoping now that the engine has some miles and the rings should be seated that it will sync. Correctly. Feel free to post the directions, I don't think they are up on this forum yet.
     
  12. Jul 18, 2019 #12

    Hemi52rb

    Hemi52rb

    Hemi52rb

    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tulsa
    this is a good pdf with pics for max 1700
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
    Traumahawk likes this.
  13. Jul 19, 2019 #13

    ShawnD

    ShawnD

    ShawnD

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    goldsboro
    My guess is it would depend on how good you are at eyeballing the four fluctuating rods or columns of mercury. With the digisync, all you have to do is watch the numbers. If you really wanted to see how accurate you are (and results can vary between two people) you could sync with the morgan or mercury tool then with the digital tool & compare.
     
    Traumahawk likes this.
  14. Nov 30, 2019 #14

    The One

    The One

    The One

    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hmm... is it 5 or 6mm Threaded Vacuum Adapters you need? (2016 Vmax)
    Can't find any info in the manual...
     
  15. Nov 30, 2019 #15

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Vmax doesn't require threaded adapters, 2nd gen or 1st. Gen. Just pull the rubber plug off the nipple, and put the hose on from the sync tool. Warm the engine to operating temp and set the sync. Easy as 1,2,3.
     
    The One likes this.
  16. Nov 30, 2019 #16

    The One

    The One

    The One

    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hehe...well that explains why I didn’t find any info on it...(last resort was to take a walk to the garage and look...)
     
  17. Dec 1, 2019 #17

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    It's all good, I had a goldwing prior to my vmaxes, and wondered the same thing.
     

Share This Page



arrow_white