Dirty carbs or needing a jet kit?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrPresident

Reaction score
Pulled the carbs on an 01 Vmax project ive been working on (previous owner let it sit for 5-6 years), cleaned em out and replaced parts with fresh carb kits.

Everything is back together and running, she pulls great right up until about 4k. It doesnt die, but the power band drops off noticeably. I did notice the carb boots are pretty dried out, and I have a supertrapp on the stock headers but have a stock airbox. If this does turn out to be a jetting issue I will be switching to pod filters.

Do i need to clean the carbs better? Is there air getting sucked in the intake boot? Or is the stock jetting just going to be wrong because i have slip on exhaust.

Thanks in advance guys

You can spray wd-40 on the intakes to see if the rpms rise or an unlit propane torch.
Check plugs and white will be to much air from somewhere. Did you check the float levels?
Stock jetting should be fine.

ill check the boots tonight, and I havent checked floats yet i was waiting to pull them until i figured out if i needed to order a jet kit or not

Jet kits are not required to run right with a slip on.

Do not buy a stage 1 jet kit, ever!

Stage 7 is good IF you have a full exhaust. Useless with slip ons.

A muscle jet kit is good IF you have a full exhaust. Useless with a slip on.

Do not install cheap pod filters! You will have a bear of a time getting it to run right. If you decide to not take this advice and do it anyways you MUST use air correctors.

Do NOT buy cheap carb rebuild kits. Most notably Keyster. They are known to have poor quality components. Specifically, the brass parts are not machined correctly. Use genuine mikuni parts!