Drive shaft oil leak

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greimers

Reaction score
I have an oil leak coming from the the boot where the drive shaft exits the engine. From the reading I've been doing here it could be a few things. What's the best way track it down, and what is the most common cause?

I also noticed a 1/4 inch gap under the boot - it's not fitting snug. Is there usually some sort of clamp on it or would it just be worn out?

This is on an '85 with 43000km. I'm still learning my way around the Vmax.

Are you sure the leak is coming from the engine. It's possible that is gear oil coming from the final drive through the swing arm. Check if the swing arm is greasy inside.

When you say "inside" do you mean to remove the rear wheel and drive shaft and look inside the tube?

I fought this for some time on my bike.
There are a few possibilities.

1. The seal on the out put shaft of the engine block.
2. The seal at the end of the driveshaft that slides into the gear coupling on the final drive.
3. The seal on the final drive

Monitor engine oil level and differential fluid level to help determine which area it is coming from.

If you really cannot determine which end is the problem, you could purchase an oil dye kit and put it either in the engine or final drive. That would narrow it down right away.

I fought this for some time on my bike.
There are a few possibilities.

1. The seal on the out put shaft of the engine block.
2. The seal at the end of the driveshaft that slides into the gear coupling on the final drive.
3. The seal on the final drive

Monitor engine oil level and differential fluid level to help determine which area it is coming from.

If you really cannot determine which end is the problem, you could purchase an oil dye kit and put it either in the engine or final drive. That would narrow it down right away.