engine knock? Sounds like valves to me, but need opinions please!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

troywcc

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here. I just bought a vmax last weekend from a guy that thought the crank bearings were bad. Listening to it I think it's more of a topend/ valve adjustment issue. This is my first vmax so any input is highly appreciated! I want to square this away before starting the mods, which I'm ready to do. If it helps, this is a 1986 with 11000 miles showing on the odometer, I guess it's been sitting for a long time before I got it. Thanks in advance for the input guys! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdT1W2ahSIc

I was hoping that it would sound like my 89, then we could figure out both. Yours is a much more noticeably sound though. Mine is there but doesn't get louder when reved. There shouldn't be that kind of noise at 11,000 miles. I'm sure this is way off but it almost sounds like a valve spring popped out of place. Good Luck, sorry I couldn't be of help...

It could be, I guess I just need to tear into it and see what I find. I was just hoping someone would jump on here and know exactly what it is and tell me right where to go lol. It could probably use a valve adjustment anyway, I just hate doing shim and buckets, I've gotten too lazy playing with my Raptor 700 and it's rocker arms, that's the only way to adjust valves.

haha! I'm not scared, I was only revving up a little bit. If it blows up that leaves me with an excellent excuse to jump into the big bore, stroker, high compression, big cams, headporting, intake, exhaust, etc. etc. that I tell my wife all my other toys require. She is convinced that anything with a motor has to have all of the above to run correctly lol.