flat slide troubles maybe

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikehardy

Reaction score
I have a 1985 that I just got a couple weeks ago. I has flat slide carbs they don't seem right Bike sounds great after it warms up. You put it in gear and it sound like it bogging down almost a like a sucking sound then the bike picks up.It seems to be strong in rest of gears just the hesitation or pause at begining. I know the bike has some rust in the tank. I cleaned the fuel filter has a glass after market on it. I sucked the tank clean put fresh gas in it. Took the bottom caps off bottom of each carb cleand them. Little if any trash in them. If you choose to answer keep it simple please I am not a mechanic by trade. Frist time I have ever seen the flat slides be easy on me.

These are Keihin 39 mm I think. Bike took a while to get warmed up and started. Pulled battery off to see how bike will turn over with 98's battery.

The flat's will not let you "whack" it open like oem carbs do. They are hard to get set right and virtually every set seems to be rich. You have to roll into the throttle. You can help that a little by getting a new power valve.

Sean

Where do I need to start by setting them right or is there a sight that explains the way I can tune them and what is a power valve?

Hey guys now I understand a little more. They keep talking of of a small drill bit to set slides what size should this gap or drill bit be. I know all 4 should be same but doesn't the gap starting point become important . I hope all you all have a happy turkey day. Thanks

Took the flat slides off.
Cleaned stage seven carbs today very fun learned a lot I hope.

# 4 carb had had the pilot screw plug out. Seemed some one had adjusted on it before. When bike stared seemed that cylinder was hot so I shut it off going to call it a night.

Is there any way to tell where to set pilot screw should be?