Front fork air

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

[email protected]

Reaction score
I'm new to this Vmax world and appreciate any advice I can get. I went to check the air pressure level in my front forks. The max I just picked up is a 1986. I find one air valve only and it is on the side of the left (drivers side) fork tube. There is not another matching valve on the other tube. I tested the one I found and the forks had no air in them. I have aired it up to 10 pounds but I did read where you have to be careful to make sure both tubes have the same pressure. I'm wondering if this one single air valve somehow feeds both tubes?

Is it possible to determine if you have progressive springs without pulling them? When I got my 94 a few years ago the fork had no air pressure in them and I assumed the progressives were installed. It would be nice to know for sure.

If you bottom the forks while riding and they have no air, you probably are stock.

I like the air in the forks, 6-14 psi is the factory setting. Don't add very-much volume, the space is small, and if you have a good compressor a second or two is probably enough to air them up. There are purpose-built manual pumps for this, but just be careful if you use your compressor.

Race Tech is an alternative to Progressive Suspension. Their choices are more-precise, and you can add Cartridge Emulators too, which will give you a much-more plush ride, if you use their front springs and the Cartridge Emulators.
Race Tech Cruiser - New

Most Cruiser Style Motorcycles utilize Damping Rod Style Forks that benefit greatly from the addition of Gold Valve Cartridge Emulators.