Fuel in exhaust pipe

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheDawg2002

Reaction score
I have a '98 VMAX with 9k miles on it. A few months ago, I put on the Cobra 4 into 4 slip-on exhaust (because I like the sound) and left the stock jets. It has been running well, but I decided to go ahead and upgrade the jets to the Dynajet Stage 1. Yesterday, I switched out the main jets for the 170s and I also changed out the needles and springs (all 4 mixture screws were set at 2.5 turns). I synced the carbs, but during the sync, I noticed the front left cylinder is blowing gas out of the exhast. I have double checked that all connections and fittings are tight. The cylinder is obviously firing because all 4 carbs are in sync and there is plenty of compression in the cylinder. I am not a mechanic and usually get all of my info from the internet and intelligent people like you. Is there a common reason for dumping fuel into an exhaust pipe, or do I need to break the carb down again? Thank you in advance.

Did you do a plug check? Whats the plug(s) look like and did you confirm spark from it/them?
Yes. Plugs are all firing well. The most common reason I keep seeing is a "stuck float bowl". I was hoping for an easy way to "unstick" the bowl without breaking down the carb.

I saw a guy unstick one a couple weekends ago with the peashooter in a parking lot. Tapping on it didnt work. His was leaking out of the over flow though. He was burning the fuel goin through the cyl.

The OEM needle valves have a wire loop that engages in the float tang. The purpose being the needle valve is pulled down when the float drops. Maybe worth draining the carb by undoing the drain screw then giving the float bowl a tap or leaning/shaking the bike