Fuel wet level check

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

Nibsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
10
Hi all,

i’ve got the carbs off the bike at the mo and i’m attempting to do the wet level float height check on each carb individually as it’s a real mare having to keep yanking the carbs out and stripping them down. I’m using the bike’s fuel pump to fill up the carb and then taking the measurement - i’ve adjusted this one and it’s now 16mm below the reference line (see pics) I can’t really see this method being an issue, I certainly find it a lot easier,… However, if my method is flawed I would certainly welcome the opinions of others
8EC91823-B259-4579-B705-74465C98E35E.jpeg 2313B4A6-8DF4-453A-A87D-70285C26A2D8.jpeg oC46FD2DC-CC82-49F8-B5B3-D59C35CAC5C7.jpeg
 

Nibsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
10
I do the same except use an auxiliary motion pro tank and gravity feed gas.
Yes I tried that method first but got varying results. I guessed it would maybe be better having it pumped in.
 

Nibsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
10
I do the same except use an auxiliary motion pro tank and gravity feed gas.
Do you have the outlet valve of the aux tank in the open or closed position when you take the measurement?
 

maleko89

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
6,848
Reaction score
279
Location
Gretna, NE
I leave it open. The float needle will keep it from over filling the bowl.
 

Fire-medic

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
13,293
Reaction score
2,891
Location
Miami Florida
Do you have the outlet valve of the aux tank in the open or closed position when you take the measurement?
Yes maleko89 is correct and a functioning float needle valve should allow you to have an accurate level on your float drain tube.
 

Nibsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
10
Yes maleko89 is correct and a functioning float needle valve should allow you to have an accurate level on your float drain tube.
Thanks for the help guys - much appreciated.
 

gentsvmax

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
888
Reaction score
463
Location
denver
Hi all,

i’ve got the carbs off the bike at the mo and i’m attempting to do the wet level float height check on each carb individually as it’s a real mare having to keep yanking the carbs out and stripping them down. I’m using the bike’s fuel pump to fill up the carb and then taking the measurement - i’ve adjusted this one and it’s now 16mm below the reference line (see pics) I can’t really see this method being an issue, I certainly find it a lot easier,… However, if my method is flawed I would certainly welcome the opinions of others
View attachment 80110 View attachment 80111 oView attachment 80112
Oh wow, just checkin the forum before we head out for the ]night and look! Same, same, just last Thursday night! Great minds huh?
A few pics, Ultra Sonic carb clean, much, much more to follow.
20210929_172806.jpg 20210929_152834.jpg 20210930_171653.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20210929_152902.jpg
    20210929_152902.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 24
  • 20210929_152902.jpg
    20210929_152902.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 28
  • 20210929_152902.jpg
    20210929_152902.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 28

Nibsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2021
Messages
61
Reaction score
10
Hmmm - thought I had this licked but not so sure now …..🤔 I can’t seem to replicate the readings I am getting. If I drain the bowl and refill I get a different measurement.
 

Latest posts

Top