Gen 1 engine rebuild

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

huw s

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here. I have a Canadian import, triked with a sprung back end. The paperwork I got with it indicated it had been treated to all kinds of goodies - upgraded alternator, Barnett clutch, stage 1 jets, crankase vent kit, don't recall what else. It also mentioned a replacement, and then a rebuilt engine.
Whatever, it had a holed/broken piston when I bought it. I did speak to the so called expert who did the work on it, he was suitably vague and defensive.
Stripdown revealed:- No goodies, low spec engine, serious meltown and liner wear in one, some wear and water damage in another and two good liners and pistons. The gearbox looks good, crank is good, all rods have survived. I haven't stripped the oil pump yet, but did find 3 pins/rollers that look as if they could be drive pins loose in the sump - still trying to work out what these are if anyone can help - they are 20mm by 2.5mm approx.
I toyed with replacing the engine, but without finding one with history I was a bit loath. So, I have bought a used crank case, some good used pistons, and intend to do some mating. The liners are out of the case, honed and look good. The pistons and rings look like they will be happy in there. Next job is to heat the case and bang the two liners in. The issue I will have is I will need to top the block to bring everything back flush, and flycutting ally and cast together isn't my favourite job.
Pics? Yes, if I can, once things start coming together.
One question, if I may - if this engine is a replacement, low spec, (3uf) if I recall, do I need to do anything special - rods, cams, valves Any different?