GURU

Discussion in 'VMOA Discussions' started by troylknfru, May 19, 2020 at 10:52 AM.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. May 19, 2020 at 10:52 AM #1

    troylknfru

    troylknfru

    troylknfru

    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Montana
    before i do my Nash reflash, is it ok to do mod airbox and install voodoo exhaust with cat delete, or should i wait and do it all at once? thank you. Troy
     
  2. May 19, 2020 at 2:49 PM #2

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    conroe, tx
    I put prob 1000 miles on my bike with 8”delkevics before Gurued. It will pop etc but not going to destroy anything. I wouldnt do the airbox mod until flash though, it will run leaner, prob too lean. The air box mod take45-/+ minutes so just do it when you wait for gurued
     
    TN_Max and troylknfru like this.
  3. May 19, 2020 at 11:56 PM #3

    troylknfru

    troylknfru

    troylknfru

    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Montana
    thank you very much, puts my gray matter at ease. Troy
     
    mavgrab302 likes this.
  4. May 20, 2020 at 7:59 PM #4

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    conroe, tx
    Being my 3rd vmax but first of the new gen I had to ask too. I sm a carb guy not ecu, always depended on others for that. Wasn't sure on a bike how lean it would run wo a flash or wide CO. I actually need to call Mr Nash about if i do add a wide band sensor if the ecu will accommodate and adjust A/F. If not just going to leave it as is. But yeah as long as you just do exhaust and not the air box should be ok.
     
  5. May 20, 2020 at 9:46 PM #5

    Itgoes

    Itgoes

    Itgoes

    Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,982
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    NY
    Unfortunately, the factory ECU cannot use feedback from a wideband sensor.

    I have a wideband sensor on my bike tied to a Dynojet POD. https://tinyurl.com/y8et458s

    It can provide some great feedback. If it's installed with a Power Commander https://tinyurl.com/ybnf4h9h as well, you can make fuel adjustments in real time or based on data logs.

    But you can see that the dinero's can really start getting shelled out.
     
    Traumahawk likes this.
  6. May 21, 2020 at 9:09 PM #6

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    conroe, tx
    So the stock ecu even when flashed i guess has not code to recognize anything outside of the stock CO scope. Gotcha. I hate piggy backing so not sure if i’ll go that route. Plus the money as you said.
     
  7. May 22, 2020 at 9:20 AM #7

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    When I called Tim originally when I was thinking of getting the reflash....this is what he told me. 80% of everyone that gets the reflash is 100% happy with it... as is. The other 20%.....need/want the power commander to get the fuel dialed in perfectly.
     
  8. May 22, 2020 at 9:21 AM #8

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,842
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    It is my understanding the stock O2 sensor is a narrow band sensor.... and the aftermarket sensors are wideband.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

arrow_white