Hello all, I have been riding any and all motorcycles for 48 years now, I currently have a 96 VMax, 01 Valkyrie, and 86 Honda Elite 250 (scooter)

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Todd Chapman

Reaction score
The vmax i have has suddenly stopped starting. It was doing fine but now when I push the start button, the headlight dims and the switch is fine, but there is no priming of the fuel pump and no power to the starter solenoid. I am sure it is probably something simple but for the life of me have been unable to figure out the problem. The previous owner tied the clutch lever safety wires together (assume to bypass the safety switch). I have checked all fuses, replaced the starter relay, etc. My question is are there any known issues that I might track down? thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_0625.JPG
    IMG_0625.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
Electrical system grounds, I always start with grounds, and load-testing a battery and reading the results.

thanks, I will check the grounds, are there any known locations that can cause problems?

Any connectors in the circuit that you suspect of giving you trouble, I'd separate the male/female connectors & use sandpaper and pliers , maybe some DEOXIT spray to clean to shiny metal, make sure the M/F connection is snug, and any corrosion is removed. Also, I've found on crimped connections, that where the crimp is, the strands may break because of chafing against something, of being stretched beyond their normal position, or from corrosion eating-away at the wire strands. Sometimes the break can occur underneath the jacket insulator, the PVC sleeve in-which the conductor strands are.

Flexing the wire along its length, looking for a break in the continuity using a tester, is something else to do, 1 wire at a time.

Here's the main harness ground, by the oil filler:
VMax engine ground by oil filler.jpg