Help! Not running on back two cylinders!!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kx250gs1100

Reaction score
Giving you a little background on me. I have around 17 years experience as a motorcycle tech. Mainly working on metric bikes and ATVs. Well I finally got my hands on my first vmax believe it or not. Customer complained that it wouldn’t idle. Would have to hold the choke on to keep it running which 9 outta 10 times points to clogged up carbs.

Got it to the house, pulled off the carbs and started tearing them apart. One carb had a clogged secondary jet, another one had a pinched slide diaphragm, and another was dry as a bone as if it wasn’t getting gas to it. Fast forward a couple days later, carbs are back together and installed on the bike. First thing I do is drain the bowls to make sure they are all getting fuel to them. Which they are. Fired up the bike did some tweaking on the air screws then synchronized the carbs. Had it idleing and checked the exhaust temps, front two were hot and the back cylinders were cold!!

I pulled the plugs to see if they were getting fire and they were getting fire on the back cylinders. The owner had champion plugs in it so I went ahead and replaced them with ngk plugs. Still not firing on rears. I hooked up a timing light to see if maybe it’s loosing fire after it starts but the timing light shows that they’re firing.

Next thought is a fuel issue. With the bike running I can literally look down the carb venturies and see gas coming out into the intake as the bike is running. So it’s getting fuel for sure. Just for the hell of it I sprayed brake cleaner down the carb while the bike was running and it still didn’t pick up that cylinder.

I’m kinda at a loss here. I don’t know the ins and outs of these vmax’s. Is there something I’m over looking? Really need yalls help!!