Introduction

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

86turbodsl

Reaction score
Hello, my first post to the forum, i'm a new member here, but no stranger to forums and bikes. I've been riding since i was 7, all dirt, had a street bike in college, a CB360, and a forced absence from riding due to marriage and family. Several years ago, a work friend gave me a Suzuki GS850 in a box and i put her together and that was my reintroduction to riding after many years. Needless to say, i'm hooked again. So the collection of bikes began, now the shop is littered with bikes and parts. GS1000's, KTM LC4, RM80, etc. And now that there's an internet, i get to research and see bikes i never saw back in the day. Lots of interesting stuff.
More background, I'm a mechanical engineer for an Automotive OEM in Michigan, design engines in R+D environment. I've always LOVED the way some bikes sounded, it's really my thing. So bikes with a big bang firing order fits the bill, such as VFR's, Ducati L twin, close to 90 degree bank angle, stuff like that. I'm not too big on 45 degree v twins, they just don't sound that appealing to me. So Harleys never really did it for me. V8 sound basically is my goal.
Yamaha R1 09+ with the crossplane crank sounds great, but the riding position sucks. I like standards. I'd never really looked at a Vmax, as i'm not really into traditional cruisers so much, preferring old school 70s-80s standards, and was only vaguely aware of them. And then i found this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16yZft_RLZU

That there, is the pinnacle sound for me. I am totally hooked. I HAVE to have one. So being a reader and researcher, i figured i should come to where those that love that bike congregate. So here i am.
So short term goal, hopefully in the next year or so if i can swing the finances, is get a 1st gen Vmax.