John From LA with Rare 1988 all original parts VMAX to good to be believed

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnnyi3

Reaction score

So this is my first time posting. I have the rarest of rare Yamaha 1988 VMAX in Red all original parts, paint, seat, wheels, everything (except tires and some cables) that looks like it just walked off the showroom floor with only 2150 miles. Yes, it's not a misprint, about 2150 miles and runs perfectly. Long story but it basically sat in a climate controlled storage facility from 1988 until 2015. It never had any gas or fluids so it didn't gum up or corrode any of the parts. Long story how I came about owning her but she basically belonged to a friend I've know since grade school and I'm in my mid 50's. After jumping through hoops to get her on the road and shipped to California from NYC, I have now had her since 2015. I start the bike every week religiously and ride her about once a month for a few miles to open her up. I keep her on a battery tender in my garage with minimal exposure to the elements. There are maybe two scratches. One on the tail and a small barely noticeable one on the tank.
I'm at a cross roads on what to do with the bike. I had a kidney transplant last year and I'm having ankle replacement surgery this winter on my shifting foot. It is getting harder and harder to find time to ride and carburetor bikes need lots of riding. How do you even price a bike like this or where to even look to sell her? I saw a rare low mileage bike for sale about the same year online in Florida with 300 times the miles that didn't look as good for around $6000.
Anyway, not sure what I'm going to do. The bike has a ton of sentimental value since I was there the day she was purchased 34 years ago, however, she deserves to be on the road more consistently. That's my story! I would love to have some feedback.
J

Attachments