llunch today w/a member of Canton OH NFL-HOF

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fire-medic

Staff member
Reaction score
We had a United Way fundraiser today, at work, and I got a chance to have lunch across from this fellow, who is in the Canton OH NFL Hall of Fame. He played center for the Dolphins under Don Shula, anyone want to guess who it is?

I have met him multiple times previously when he was running permitting for his construction company's projects, and I was a plans examiner and inspector working for the county.

He told us a great story. He said that as offensive center, he had the job of providing Dan Marino w/the 3 or 4 seconds he needed to find a receiver downfield. Mark Duper was one of Dan's favorite targets, and Mark could usually run-by anyone to get-open, but Mark did not dive for balls. Marino had just re-signed for six million dollars, and at the time, was probably the highest-paid quarterback in the game.

In a game, Mark Duper missed a pass that was beyond his reach, and when he returned to the huddle, Dan told him, "Mark, ya gotta dive to make those receptions!"

Mark looked at Dan, and told him, "for six million **^&*^&^##!! dollars, you should be hitting me in the numbers, so I don't have to dive!" :rofl_200:

It was a good meal.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 26
Looks like Dwight Stephenson to me, is that correct?
if so he was one helluva center until his knee or leg got injured.
I know he has been to the super bowl once or twice but I don't think he has a ring :ummm:
that's pretty cool that you had lunch with him!

Bill, yes, it is Dwight Stephenson. No, like Dan, he never won the Big One, but he learned how to be a winner playing for Paul Bryant before going to the Dolphins w/Don Shula.
http://www.profootballhof.com/mobile/hof/member.aspx?PLAYER_ID=204