Looking at 1986 Vmax need info

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SDB

Reaction score
Looking at a one owner 1986 Vmax... 16,500 miles. I know old Yamahas pretty well but never had a Vmax. Owner says "clutch is soft needs bled"... So I am assuming it's a hydraulic clutch. I replaced the slave cylinder on my RSV. Is it pretty much the same with the slipper clutch on a Vmax?

Any particular things to look for when test riding? Always wanted a 1st gen and hopefully this one is as nice and stock as it appears (not sure if it's stock exhaust)

Attachments

• 20201030_154030.jpg
    20201030_154030.jpg
    156 KB · Views: 28
I'm kind of new to Vmax ownership as well. In looking around here for a while it looks like coils and popping out of second gear under acceleration are the biggies. The second gear issue looks like a show stopper since you have to split the cases to fix it. You can find lots of people discussing.

1993 and newer gen 1's have a few better bits on them like forks.

Be sure to add your location under your screen name, someone on-here may be local to you, for assistance.

Yes it appears to-be a stock exhaust.

This thread is a good one for initial VMax owners: New Vmax Owner FAQs....new members please read!

A strong battery and a properly-operating charging system are necessary for proper evaluation of the bike in dynamic mode. A weak battery causes all-sorts of problems. The charging system misfunction will prevent the battery from working properly. Of those two, you're probably more-likely to reach the bad battery than you are a poorly-operating charging system.