Lull in acceleration after slowing down from 90 plus.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geoff Lewie

2005 VMAX in process of restoral.
Reaction score
I have had and modified multiple bikes since I started riding in 1974. I have had three Maxs. First 2 new. The present one is a used 2005 anniversary editon. My second was one too. I had to do a full carb cleaning and rebuild as well as fork seals and other refresh needs. Just put a Supertrapp set of pipes on it.

Open with no silencer with the engine mods a smoking second gear shift. Runs similar to my 2003 which was a 160 mph beast. Here's the problem. With the silencer discs, 20 each side to allow for engine mods coming off over 100 mph and then speeding back up the Max has a lull like it is running out of gas and then picks back up. Obviously it accelerates more genteelly, but without the silence disks it rages with no hesitation. I have never experienced this sort of lull in pickup on any other except running out of gas. Replaced the fuel pump some time back and diaphragm/slide springs. Cut them experimenting (worked great on my 2003). Obviously the CV carbs with the change in back pressure could have some effect but still have not experienced that before. I have not actually started to test for answers yet. Looking to see if anyone has any suggestions.