Maintenance for a sitting Vmax

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
as some may know my grandpa passed and left me his 86 vmax. I should be picking it up soon(waiting for all the legal stuff to happen before I take ownership). so as it appears the bike has sat since 2006. Im taking a guess because the tag says 06 on it lol. Now I have no idea why it sat or what caused it to be parked. Hell it could of been too much bike for my grandpa in his old age. I know it doesnt start so i know i will need a battery and a rear tire, but what should I look into before i start it up? are there any common failures or things that can go bad with time? should I just replace all the fluids, plugs and wires?

I have never worked on a bike before but what worked on a ton of cars.

Sorry for the novel and thanks for the help

I would check all the fluids, tires, brakes/clutch. I might be surprised if it starts up after 10 years w/o a good carb cleaning. Do you have the luxury of a friend with a trailer? It was parked inside, yes?

Seriously. Disassemble and clean the ENTIRE fueling system (tank, filter, pump, lined, carbs) and start with fresh gas. ask me how I know. A battery and tire are easy to get.

I would check all the fluids, tires, brakes/clutch. I might be surprised if it starts up after 10 years w/o a good carb cleaning. Do you have the luxury of a friend with a trailer? It was parked inside, yes?

Yeah it has been parked in a garage under a cover for all this time or atleast so it appears

Probably not going to be cheap to do, but you're getting the work done right by one of the best authorities on our rides. There's something to be said for getting things right the first time. You could do it like this: