motor

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

john rossignol

Reaction score
1997 vmax engine in 1990 frame ,do the header pipes need to be removed ,to change the motor mount cross member bracket ,for the spin off filter ???

Last edited:
Exactly. Either mod your cross member with a hoop or get the later one. I do have some on hand. Best to email me at [email protected] if I can help.

THANK YOU FOR THE INFO ,I got a later model bracket on ebay .I,ll have it a few days ,do the header pipes need to come off ???

You should be able to slip the bracket in without taking the header off

Hi, This is my first time in a forum. I'm rebuilding a 1989 vmax engine and need to order new bearings for the crank and balance shaft. Some of the bearings lost the color identifying what size. My dog also ran through the garage to chase a cat and slammed into the table that had them in order and sent them flying...grrr anyway the manual shows the numbers for the crank and the balance shaft on the back right side of the engine mount. Issue #1 I only have 4 numbers.. 89 then directly under those numbers are 26. If I look on the left engine mount I can see what looks like numbers. Issue #2 I can't make out the numbers due to them not being engraved deep enough. Does anyone know any other way to find out what bearings I need?