My boys first ride

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lawman504

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I wanted to share a moment with you all. It isn't so much a "riding event" so to speak and I don't have any pictures to share but it was a ride that only happens ONCE ever. So, its obvious I am a noob here and that's because I just bought my '85 VMAX a few days ago. I sold my '99 Suzuki Katana in order to get one because for the past 10 years I have drooled all over my buddies '92 custom yellow VMAX with a Holeshot exhaust on it. Last summer I decided that my son Rion who is 10 years old now was old enough to take some rides with me on my Katana. I thought this would be good father/son time but he absolutely refused because he was scared he would fall off. I tried and tried to convince him to get on that thing and even went as low as to bribe him with ice cream and other goodies...hahah!! Still, no Rion on my Katana. Yesterday I was rubbing my bike with a microfiber towel like i have been over and over again since I got it and Rion says to me "dad i really like your VMAX, do we have a helmet that fits me?" I jumped up and grabbed a spare helmet from out of the garage and cleaned the dust off of it and told him to try it on. He did and it fit like a glove. He told me that he wanted to ride with me on my VMAX and i got all excited and I couldn't get it warmed up fast enough. I will never forget yesterday as long as I live. We rode maybe 25-30 miles and it was only the second time I had ever rode a VMAX. He LOVED IT!!! I kept looking at him in my mirror and he was grinning from ear to ear. We got back and he said "I'm hooked dad, can we ride it again tomorrow?" What a moment to remember. I guess its just part of the magic of a VMAX and how much of a bad ass bike it is. Just wanted to share my moment of a boy, his dad, and a VMAX.:th_stophierPeeingIn