1st Gen V-Max My VMAX 1992 white

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim spain

Reaction score
VMax Year
Thank you for being there. The vmax is certainly an interesting bike (especially on the bends)! Apart from a BMW 100RT and a Kawasaki Z650 all of my more recent bikes have been Triumphs, 50's thru 70's. '58 500 speed twin, '76 750 Bonneville with extensive engine/exhaust mods (bought it in 1980 sold it 2016), '75 US spec Trident T160, loads of norman hyde bits, sintered Iron drag clutch, production race exhaust etc. I've been riding since 1978. Sadly I sold all of my Triumphs before I emigrated to spain. The heat where I live in southern spain in the summer would have probably done them in (90 to 110f). Anyhow I'm attaching a pic of my vmax a white '92 model. Adios amigos. 1992 VMAX 1200.jpg

You had a Triumph addiction. The Trident/Rocket III was the 'fastest production bike in the world,' for a couple months in the fall of 1968 when it was released, then the Japanese landed. Between the 750/4 and the Kawasaki Mach III, and preceded by the Trident/Rocket III, 1969 was an exciting year for two wheeled big-bore bikes. The marketplace has never been the same.

Your '92 is a well-preserved bike. You don't see many VMax owners choosing to put white paint jobs on their bikes. I like a white bike, but in 'the old days,' that would just show leaking oil more-quickly.

The 'young-'un's' probably are too-busy staring into their smartphones' screens to know that the Triumph Daytona 500 won the race it's named after. No, not the Daytona 500, the Daytona 200 as 500 refers to the engine displacement of 500cc. That was the largest displacement OHV engine you were allowed to run by the AMA back-then. In 1966 and 1967 it was Elmore and Nixon who won the race, then a flathead H-D with Cal Rayborn the next two years.

Enjoy your relocation.