Need help deciding on rim

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mckzx9

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently bought a old kosman I think 18" rear rim. I have a chance to get an almost identical match for the front but it's a 17" front rim. Am I going to have any issues with this setup? Is there anyone with this setup that can advice me what to do ? My concerns are speedometer handling ect. I'm 6'0 and my bike is perfect height for me right now. I guess a little lower wouldn't hurt me.
Thank you in advance for your help !!!!!!

I know you texted me about it but wanted my thoughts out there too incase they are not accurate.

RPMs per 'true' speed will not be effected probably since that 18" rim will be pretty close to stock I bet.

Your speed may show 'higher' per RPMs until you get a thundercat speedo to fix that issue. I know dannymax has done it.

I am not a bike engineer but not sure if the 17" rim would effect anything different than a ~1" drop in the forks would?

Not sure what the 17"front/18"rear combo tire situations are. Shinko has 2 available with 110-130 front, but only a 170 rear (which might actually fit perfect on that rear rim):
http://www.bikebandit.com/shinko-006-podium-motorcycle-tire

or a 120 front and a 180 on the back:
http://www.bikebandit.com/shinko-003-stealth-motorcycle-tire

Do you know the width of the front rim?

would give u an idea of which tire size(s) you could go with.

Speedometer can be corrected by swapping the speedo drive itself or the drive internals from another bike with the wheel size you intend to use. Another option would be a digital speedo.