New buyer's tips

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

highwinger

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new here and it's my first time posting.

Finally, after 20 years of desiring a Vmax, I think the time has come. I'm currently courting a '03. What are the keys think to look at when I go to inspect? there's no real mods other than the seat, >20k miles, looks good.

I appreciate your experience,
Bill

PS. 4 carbs scare me most

2nd gear as mentioned above, normal stuff like brakes, fork seals, tires for wear and feathering, service history to make sure its had normal service. When you turn on the key before start you should hear the vboost cycle (not to uncommon that vboost controllers stop working). Its nice to be able to figure anything it needs into the price. The carbs are no big deal but a Morgan Carbtune will be your friend. Good luck with your shopping Bill and welcome!

I bought my 2001 last year and have had a ton of fun so far.

Here is what I would do, with the experience that I have gained over the past 5K miles that I have put on:

1) start it up and make sure it idles without choke (once the temp is 1/3 on the scale) - this will give you an indication that the carbs are not gummed up and working.
2) bring a flashlight and peer into the gas tank to ensure that it relatively clean - no rust - as this can lead to bad things with carbs later...
3) 2nd gear - find a long, straight stretch of road, test the brakes from a couple of 50-60 mph runs to get the feel - and go full throttle till about 9,000 rpm. Two things should happen: a) the bike should stay in gear the whole time; b) the bike should try to rip your arms off after 6,000 RPM (hold on tight and be prepared). If both things happen things are good with that VMax - tranny, engine and carbs. PS - I'll say it again - find a long stretch of road - you will need it to slow down...