Nissin masters.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ridin Dirty

Reaction score
I'm looking to change the stock brake and clutch masters to Nissins. Can anyone advise what size's I will need, in millimeters? I'll also be adding braided lines. the calipers are stock. If I later want to change out the front brake calipers, will I need a different size brake master?

5/8" is stock bore diameter. Very close to 16mm.
16 15 or 14mm should work fine.
Smaller bore diameter = lever is easier to pull but it has to travel further to displace the same among of fluid as a larger bore diameter. Some guys say this gives you more "feel" to the brakes.
I have a 14mm dutch master. It works fine but I have to have the lever adjusted all the way out for it to work right. The clutch starts to engage/disengage when the lever is about 3/4" off the bars.
I haven't tried a 14mm master for the brakes. Some guys love them, some say you have to move the lever too far with it.

I don't know much about how radial masters would work with our calipers so I can't give you any input on those.

As far as a caliper swap goes, its hard to say without knowing what you're putting on. I've hard good things about a 14mm master and R1 calipers.

5/8" is stock bore diameter. Very close to 16mm.
16 15 or 14mm should work fine.
Smaller bore diameter = lever is easier to pull but it has to travel further to displace the same among of fluid as a larger bore diameter. Some guys say this gives you more "feel" to the brakes.
I have a 14mm dutch master. It works fine but I have to have the lever adjusted all the way out for it to work right. The clutch starts to engage/disengage when the lever is about 3/4" off the bars.
I haven't tried a 14mm master for the brakes. Some guys love them, some say you have to move the lever too far with it.