No high beam on cybermax unit after LED upgrade

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Cn4366, May 16, 2019.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. May 16, 2019 #1

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MANCHESTER, NH
    Just put 55w h3 LED bulbs in my Max, low beam works, one bulb lights as it should, when I switch on the high beam the indicator light comes on but I get nothing out of either bulb. Do these have a relay that I need a load equalizer for or does the dimmer switch not play nice with leds?? Bulbs tested fine on a standalone battery.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  2. May 17, 2019 #2

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9,118
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    Try reversing the leads.
     
  3. May 18, 2019 #3

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MANCHESTER, NH
    Tried it. Just made the other light go on instead
     
  4. May 18, 2019 #4

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MANCHESTER, NH
    Ended up being a break in the ground wire, one of the lights apparently was only going to work intermittently. Almost ripped my hair out on this one.
     
  5. May 19, 2019 #5

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Broken ground wire? For the hi beam only? H3 is a 3 wire bulb. 1 ground shared for hi and lo beam. How did a broken ground only affect the hi side and not the low? Usually when you see vehicles running around with one really dim light and the other bright, this is a result of a bad ground. Was this what you had?
     
  6. May 20, 2019 #6

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Cn4366

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MANCHESTER, NH
    These are 1 wire. Grounded by a wire to the housing that feeds into an h4, then there's a wire between both bulbs for high beam. The low beam worked when high beam wasn't plugged in. It was intermittent so a pita to track down haha

     
  7. May 20, 2019 #7

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Pighuntingpuppy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico

    Ah...My mistake. Gotcha now. I had my bulbs confused, LOL.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white