No spark from one coil

Discussion in 'VBoost Room' started by JpRngr, Jan 29, 2018.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

Tags:
  1. Jan 29, 2018 #1

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    Hey there!
    Just picked up an '88 Vmax that was inop. No back history, got it cheap from an auction for a project. Anyway, put a new battery in and am trying to get it running. Found really old, nasty gas and have drained the tank and cleaned it out. Will be pulling the carbs and cleaning them also. In the process of figuring things out, I determined I wasn't getting spark from the left rear coil. If I swap the connectors between the rear two coils, it will spark and the right one won't. So, don't believe it to be a coil issue.

    What should I look at next? Saw something on here about checking resistance at a six pin connector and one of them was lower than the others, but don't have the results here right now. Any thoughts or suggestions as to where to look next?


    Corey
     
  2. Jan 29, 2018 #2

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    Can we assume you have a wiring diagram?

    As three of the coils work then that would rule out the pick-up cpils

    I would start by checking that I have power to the coil and if OK check that you have continuity back to the ignition unit.

    If that checks out OK then I would suspect an issue with the ignition unit
     
  3. Jan 29, 2018 #3

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    No, no wiring diagram. Just got this less than a week ago. Google is my friend! LOL.

    Anyway, I'll see about checking resistance in the wiring between the ignition unit and coils. If that checks out and I need a new ignition unit, is a stock replacement recommended or is there a better aftermarket unit I should look at?
     
  4. Jan 30, 2018 #4

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Miami Florida
  5. Jan 30, 2018 #5

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
  6. Jan 30, 2018 #6

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    You can get the service manual here

    If the unit is faulty then your choices are OE, Dyna or Ignitech.
    However it is most likely to be a wiring or connection fault and if possible I would check the ignition unit by substitution if possible.

    As Mr Medic suggests, CoP's are an alternative if you need to replace a coil but that does not seem to be the case here.
     
  7. Jan 30, 2018 #7

    effingidiot

    effingidiot

    effingidiot

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.K. A soldier of life,just soldiering throu.
    Any chance of a photo of your project,pretty please.
     
  8. Feb 11, 2018 #8

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    So, got back to fiddling with the bike today. Had decided to take a break from it due to the newly cleaned tank deciding to leak from the sending unit seal after getting it installed. So, that's now leak free and back in. Now, I'm not getting fuel out of the pump. Tried using a water bottle filled with gas fitted directly to the pump, in case it just needed to be primed. Finally got some fuel down to the carbs and got the bike to fire. Reconnected fuel line to tank. Would only idle, anytime I tried hitting the throttle, it would die. Checked spark again and now all coils are firing. Looks like the fuel pump just isn't sucking any fuel. Don't know if pump had pumped anything or if I just squeezed fuel to the carbs from the water bottle. Anyone know for sure how well these pumps suck? Do I need to prime the pump, or should I look at getting a new pump?
     
  9. Feb 11, 2018 #9

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    Oh yeah, and no pics yet, as it's all torn apart trying to get it running. LOL.
     
  10. Feb 11, 2018 #10

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    Does it run if switched to reserve?
     
  11. Feb 12, 2018 #11

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co

    ???

    Am I missing something? I haven't seen a reserve on this bike.
     
  12. Feb 12, 2018 #12

    Bill Seward

    Bill Seward

    Bill Seward

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,587
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Holland NY
    Look on the handlebar switch.
     
  13. Feb 12, 2018 #13

    vwaxxed

    vwaxxed

    vwaxxed

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    There is definitely a reserve switch, but there isn't an actual "reserve tank". When the fuel gets low it shuts the fuel pump off and when you switch it to reserve it overrides it and runs the pump anyways. It's just above the start button (a left to right switch). I believe left is reserve and right is on, im at work so i don't have the bike in front of me but I believe thats the orientation.
     
  14. Feb 12, 2018 #14

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    Don't think it'd be the reserve then, cause the pump definitely turns on. Just doesn't suck any fuel from the tank. Guess I'll be getting a new pump. Any suggestions? Saw Chinese cheapos on e-bay for $15-40 and new Yamahas for $250-300. Don't know that I wanna throw $300 into a project bike right now.

    Corey
     
  15. Feb 12, 2018 #15

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    one2dmax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    14,576
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Derby Kansas
    I've got good used OEM pumps and be cautions of the cheap ones that likely don't have the built in pressure regulator. You may simply have a displaced diaphragm if it doesn't pump. Another thing to make sure is that there is no air leaks on the side prior to the pump. Even a very tiny hole will cause it to lose the ability to suck fluid even if that hole doesn't leak fluid. Picture included of a displaced diaphragm.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Feb 12, 2018 #16

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    JpRngr

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Co
    How much for a good used one? I don't really want to put another cheapo Chinese one in, cause that looks to be what's in it.
     
  17. Feb 13, 2018 #17

    sdt354

    sdt354

    sdt354

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southern N.E.
    Make sure your tank vent line is clear and not pinched.
     
  18. Feb 13, 2018 #18

    vwaxxed

    vwaxxed

    vwaxxed

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    I'd email Sean and see how much he can get one shipped to you for. one2dmax@aol.com
     

Share This Page

arrow_white