Number 2 cylinder spark plug

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VMAX2006

Reaction score
Ok.. so after reading many issues on this forum.. the bulk of the issues can be resolved by cleaning the carbs. Now I have cleaned mine thoroughly twice.. every orifice and jet has been cleaned, the float valves were leveled off. I synced my carbs once I put them back on. Now the reason why i went thru the carbs again was because my number 2 cylinder was not showing much burn on the plug.. As you can see in the pic.. thats over 100 miles on the plug and thats a new plug and the old one looked exactly the same.

I have verified spark and she idles fine and WOT she runs like a raped ape. its just at rpm under 4k.. she is a little jumpy. I believe its either the coil or the CDI. But I have no experience with it. oh all the other cylinders have a perfect sandy brown plug.

The last owner had a shop put on the Morley Muscle kit, apparently that replaces stock jets with a 100 and 170 jet. The A/F are syncing around 2.5, So I would guess those sizes of jets are fine. any input would help.. bike only has 5k miles and its a 2006.

also I thought it might be lean.. so turning up the A/F just makes it pop like crazy.

Attachments

• IMG_1068 (1).jpg
    IMG_1068 (1).jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 34
Ok.. so after reading many issues on this forum.. the bulk of the issues can be resolved by cleaning the carbs. Now I have cleaned mine thoroughly twice.. every orifice and jet has been cleaned, the float valves were leveled off. I synced my carbs once I put them back on. Now the reason why i went thru the carbs again was because my number 2 cylinder was not showing much burn on the plug.. As you can see in the pic.. thats over 100 miles on the plug and thats a new plug and the old one looked exactly the same.